Midnight In The Desert — lunar

Total Lunar Eclipse of the 'Blood Moon' Tuesday Night

Posted by K R on

Total Lunar Eclipse of the 'Blood Moon' Tuesday Night

A total lunar eclipse is set to rise above people across a large swath of the world Wednesday morning (Oct. 8). Weather permitting, people in North America, Australia, western South America and parts of East Asia will be able to see the total lunar eclipse. Sometimes, when the moon dips into Earth's shadow during an eclipse, the natural satellite takes on a coppery-red color, leading some people to dub it a "blood moon." The eclipse should reach totality just before sunrise at about 6:25 a.m. EDT (1025 GMT) on the east coast of the United States. via Space.com - Total...

Read more →

Watch the Blood Moon Lunar Eclipse REPLAY

Posted by K R on

Watch the Blood Moon Lunar Eclipse REPLAY

On the night of April 14th, two significant and spectacular events will take place simultaneously, as Mars reaches its closest point to Earth while the Moon will be totally eclipsed. Slooh will present these events in real time, starting with coverage of Mars at 7 PM PDT / 10 PM EDT / 02 UTC (4/15) (International Times) from Slooh's telescopes off the west coast of Africa in the Canary Islands and transitioning to coverage of the Total Lunar Eclipse starting at 11 PM PDT / 2 AM EDT (4/15) / 06 UTC (4/15) (International Times) with live feeds from throughout...

Read more →